Why I chose Natural Childbirth

People think I’m absolutely nuts. I gave birth to twins naturally. No drugs. Nothing. Just me and my lady parts.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I like to research stuff. Read both sides of every argument and then make my own decision on what would be best for me. I won’t go into detail about what I read about spinals or epidurals, it’s not my place to inform others of what I’ve learned. The way I see it, I’m not a medical professional and don’t have all the knowledge nor is it my place to make people feel guilty/worry about their own decision by putting thoughts into your mind. If you really want to know, you can do the research yourself, right? In the end, sometimes the drugs are necessary for safety reasons and you don’t need to hear any negativity about it.

On we go…

So after reading what I read I decided that I would want to have a drug free delivery of my babies.  However, since there are so many articles and studies out there stating that the drugs aren’t that bad I wasn’t still 100% convinced in my decision. What placed the final nail in the coffin was speaking to women who delivered multiple times and both ways (with and without drugs). I spoke to 5 women and they all said the same thing, drug free was a better experience!

For about 6 months (after the first trimester and you tell everybody your pregnant) all people want to tell you about is their experiences with pregnancy and delivery. I know more people who had children with an epidural than not and they all stated “I would never deal with that pain. Screw that. No way.” etc. and the women who only deliver drug free tell you their versions. The thing is, both sides are biased. How can you tell me one way is better than the other if you haven’t experienced the latter?

If you’ve only ate vanilla ice cream all your life, could you tell me it’s better than chocolate ice cream? Nope.

The complaints I heard about epidurals and/or spinals were:

– that they hurt more than the labor itself
– the after effects weren’t worth it (everybody I spoke to had the headaches just different levels and one lost all feeling from the waist down for 2 days)
– they were groggy afterwards and couldn’t enjoy their newborn like they did without the drugs

I don’t want to say that’s every bodies experience. I’m sure there are many who don’t have a clue what I’m talking about and had the drugs. I apologize that you may feel defensive reading this, but as I stated, this is what was told to me and I’m just repeating it.

My experience giving birth was wonderful and as I mentioned, the women who have told me of their natural experiences all say the same. Is it painful? Of course, it’s childbirth! How can you honestly expect it not to be? But wow was it amazing. For me the contractions were bad. I’ve heard that having twins, it’s twice the hormones so twice the pain. If that’s true I do not know.  My husband did a great job talking me through them. He had me visualize each body part to relax them. He was very positive and encouraging that I was doing a good job. I coached my husband for 3 months telling him to remind of things when I was ready to give up. First, the more painful the contractions are, the closer to the end you are woohoo. Second, you’re not the first person to do this. There was no caveman doctor setting up a drip. The human race exists because women gave birth. Third, women died of infections in the past, not from the pain, we are capable of amazing things.

Pushing felt GREAT. It was the best feeling in the world at that moment. I was on cloud 9 when it was time to push, such relief! A half hour after I gave birth our families were at the bed and nobody could believe how refreshed I looked. I pushed two babies in a total of 45 minutes (the first one taking the longest since I didn’t know what I was doing. My son was 3 pushes and out he came.) This 45 minutes includes giving birth to my girl, removing the placenta etc, breaking my sons water, the Dr. turning him (a very gross experience involving her entire arm) and then pushing him out. Wham bam thank you m’am.

I know that my experience isn’t everybodies. I know that I’m so lucky to have had a easy experience. I mean it was literally what everybody hopes for. I only had contractions for about 3 hours and my OB/GYN was  amazed how how quickly I went from 2cm to 10cm. I’m posting below a few things I did that supposedly help with labor.

I believe we get told “don’t be a hero” too much. People love to tell you about how painful it will be, My mother in law was horrible. “Oh my God, so much pain. It’s the most painful experience you’ll ever have. I feel so bad for you” Pain. Pain. Pain! That’s all we hear. So at 5 months pregnant we already decide “I’m getting an epidural”.

I’m here to do the opposite. It’s possible. You can do it. There are circumstances where you would need drugs, you must be open to that fact that your birth plan may not happen. The safety of the you and the baby/babies is what comes first. I was open to the idea that I may need a C-Section (it was my worst nightmare but I understood I might need one).

In the end, no matter what happens I think every mother can agree that everything is worth it when you have those babies. What was your experience? The more input given the better decisions others can make.


Some tips:(these may or may not have been the reason I had by the book smooth labor but hey they didn’t hurt)

Eating Dates – the Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology found that women who ate dates daily (I had two a night) were less likely to need medication to start labor or keep it going, aka you’ll go faster!

Walking/Exercise – we have a dog so this one was easy for me, a 30 minute walk a day my entire pregnancy. Staying active and fit helps shorten labor studies have found.

Red raspberry leaf tea – I drank 3 cups of Traditional Medicinals Organic Pregnancy Tea® daily which contains the leaf. It’s supposed to tone the muscles of your uterus and helps it work better during labor.

3 thoughts on “Why I chose Natural Childbirth

  1. Great, great post!
    I have been waiting to hear a natural twin birth story but never have – thank you! 😀 And well done.
    I am one of those women who have had both kinds of birth: 2 medicated and 1 natural, non-medicated. The natural was BETTER. I have a page on my blog with more info (things that helped me, etc), if you’re interested: http://atlantamomofthree.net/natural-childbirth/
    I like the things you had your husband remind you of! Also, I totally agree about the exercise – I was working out even WHILE in labor (literally)! lol

      • Haha, yes I am probably a bit crazy. BUT, I had already been working out daily, so it wasn’t anything new. 😉 What can I say? I was determined to encourage labor to continue!!

Leave a Reply

